Located in Pharr and Hidalgo, TX, Hernandez Driving School, produces "safe and knowledgeable drivers".

Joe "Lando" Hernandez is the founder and lead instructor at Hernandez Driving School. Mr. Hernandez possess over 30 years of experience, instructing teen and adult driver’s education with one goal in mind: “produce safe and knowledgeable drivers”. His passion for driver’s education started when he opened the doors to the first Hernandez Driving School, in the mid 1980’s, in the heart of San Juan, TX.   Mr. Hernandez successfully operated the school for twenty years. 
 

We're Back! Currently, Hernandez Driving School has two locations to better serve the community. Mr. Hernandez opened the Pharr location on November 2014, inside of Suite E at the Pharr Plaza. In June of 2016, Mr. Hernandez and his daughter, Martina Hernandez recognized a need for driver’s education instruction in Hidalgo and a second location was opened. Mr. Hernandez continues to oversee the instruction at both locations, while Martina oversees the daily operations.

 

Pharr LOCATION

1000 E. Business Highway 83 (Suite E), Pharr, TX, 78577

OFFICE Hours

M-F 10A-8:30P
Sat. & Sun. Office Closed

Phone

 (956) 429-8376

 

HIDALGO LOCATION

420 E. Coma, (Suite B), Hidalgo, TX, 78557

OFFICE HOURS

M-F 4:00p-7:00p             Sat. & Sun. Office Closed

Phone        

(956) 429-8376            (calls answered)     M-F 10a-8:30p

 

Teen driver's education course

At work 4.jpg

AGE REQUIREMENT: 15-17 years of age

Only $280!!! No registration, certification, or notarization fees!!

What's Included?

  • 32 hours of class instruction (2 hours per day for 16 days)
    • Student is eligible for drivers permit upon passing their first exam (3rd day of instruction)
    • Student will complete the DPS written exam on the last day of class instruction
  • 7 hours behind-the-wheel driving time with instructor
    • DPS Driving permit is required before student schedules driving time with instructor
  • 7 hours of in car observation with instructor
  • All required certificates are included (first copy).

What's the next step?

  • The student makes an appointment to complete the driving exam at the DPS office.

Free:

  • Notarization
  • Make-Up classes

Material required by DPS for Drivers Permit:

  • Birth Certificate - Original document or certified copy
  • Social Security Card - Original document or certified copy
  • DE-964 Certificate - Provided by Hernandez Driving School
  • 2 Utility Bills - In the name of Parent/Guardian
  • Parent/Guardian must be a legal US resident and provide valid Texas Driver License or Identification Card

Teen Driver's Ed Forms (Click to Open)

Verification of Enrollment (VOE)

DPS Application(English)

Solicitud de una Licencia

30-Hour Log

Texas Residency Affidavit(English)-If your child is 18+

Residencia en Texas Declaracion Jurada

Register and Pay for a Teen Driver's Ed Course Online Or In Person at Hernandez Driving School

Cash, check*, and all major credit cards accepted**

Payment plans are available. 

*$35 dollar fee for all returned checks

**$5 convenience fee per transaction


 

adult driver's education course

AGE REQUIREMENT: 18 -24 years of age

Only $100!!! No registration, certification, or notarization fees!!

 

What's Included?

6 hours of class instruction

What topics are covered?

Students will learn the fundamentals of traffic laws and traffic signs, as well as how to navigate common traffic situations.

Once the classroom instruction is completed, students are required to pass a traffic laws and traffic signs test in order to obtain certificate of completion.

What's the next step?

Once the certificate of completion is obtained, a student can go to the Department of Public Safety and take the driving exam to earn a driver license or purchase a learner permit.

Class schedule:

Saturday's from 9am - 3pm

Deadline to register for adult class is the Wednesday before Saturday's class.

Do you need to practice your driving?

  • ON-ROAD DRIVING INSTRUCTION is available at the rate of $40 per hour
    • Instructor will focus on skills needed for DPS driving exam.

Material needed by DPS to apply for Texas Drivers license

  • Birth Certificate - Original document or certified copy
  • Social Security Card - Original document or certified copy
  • Certificate - Provided by Hernandez Driving School
  • $25.00 - Given to the DPS for purchase of driver license
  • Texas ID/School ID
  • 2 Utility Bills

Adult Driver's Ed Forms (click to open)

    Register and Pay for an Adult Driver's Ed Course Online or In Person at Hernandez Driving School

    Cash, check*, and all major credit cards accepted**

    *$35 dollar fee for all returned checks

    **$5 convenience fee per transaction


    PHOTO GALLERY


    New logo Hernandez Driving School.jpg

    Contact Us:

    Office: (956) 429-8376

    Martina Hernandez Cell: (956) 784-5557

    Joe "Lando" Hernandez Cell: (956) 270-3818

    customercare@hernandezdrivingschool.com

     

    PHARR LOCATION

    Office Hours

    Monday - Friday 10a - 8:30p

    Saturday & Sunday Office Closed

     

    Hernandez Driving School

    1000 East Business Highway 83 (Suite E)

    Pharr, TX, 78577

     
    Have Questions? (Will respond within 24 hours, Mon-Fri.) *
    Name *
    Name
    Phone *
    Phone
    How Did You Hear About Us? *